life

Really bad memory

growing up, I thought for a long time, actually up until adulthood, that my brother’s birthday was on October 31. I couldn’t get it through my head otherwise. Well not only was I wrong about the day, but about the month as well.

I have spent my children’s entire lives trying to remember their birthdays. The twins I have been the worst with. I still can’t accurately say the day. I get stuck between two dates.

I tend to forget how old I am. It takes me a little bit to remember quite often.

If I’m told something, there’s a good chance I’ll forget what it was within 20 minutes or so. Example: I was told I needed to be back to the house because R had an appointment. In the time it took to drop the kids off to school (30 minutes or so), I completely forgot he needed my help! I ended up having to meet up with him where his appointment was at to trade off the youngest.

People get mad at you when you’re memory doesn’t function very well.

A lot of times people think I’m blowing them off or being lazy, but they don’t understand how frustrated I get either. I hate that my memory is so bad. I wish I could remember basic things like other people. But I can’t.

I’m trying to understand this whole making a schedule thing, which I’m also horrible at and part of that is that it’s hard to make a schedule when you can’t remember all the things you need to do.

I sit down for hours and write out what I need to do, knowing that I’m forgetting things. Then I’m afraid to schedule because what if I forgot something really important. I don’t want to have to change the schedule. I hate schedule changes. What if I’m overbooking? What if I promised to meet someone? Wasn’t so and so moving? Who was I going to help clean? I know I had an appointment, what day was that! What time? I constantly have all these concerns running through my head and I get stuck.

I seem to perpetually be in this loop where I need schedule and routine but find myself unable to successfully pull it off and I don’t know what to do.

I just want to learn how to work with the crappy memory I have and be able to do things better.

Thank you for reading sunshines, and have a beautiful day!

One thought on “Really bad memory

  1. I’m no expert on this subject at all! But you say you want to learn and in time I’m sure you will! There’s lots of methods that can help people’s memory and with the power of the Internet you could ask others if they have any advice. I hope you had a good day, I always love reading your posts 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

