Dear Humanity,

I love you, I do. You are beautiful and kind. Those are your main attributes. Your ugly and cruel speaks loudly, not because it’s your most prominent feature, as you think it is, but rather because it’s something that you don’t like about yourself. You call out the negative in you to work toward getting rid of it, and holy crap, what a job you have done! You are at a utopian level of peace comparative to your history, and you are at your moral pinnacle of your time. You love more and hate less, and you find more beauty and less darkness than ever before.

You aren’t perfect, and it bothers you, the darkness in you that escapes makes you sad, and it’s beautiful to see. It means that you know that you have work, and it means you want to work on it.

Humanity, on a whole you are lovely, and I know, when you look in the mirror, all you can see are your flaws, but those really aren’t the only things there are to you. Your beauty shines through so often, it’s sad you can’t see it.

You think you’re worse now than you’ve ever been. The world’s going to hell in a handbasket and violent little you is the reason why.

Oh humanity, how I wish I could get you to understand the wonderful things you’ve done. I wish you could see the potential that I do.

Humanity how I love you, how I adore you, and just because I’m mad at you sometimes doesn’t mean that I don’t love you any less, it just means that I’m less than impressed with your actions.

You can do better, I see it all the time. You are getting better, it’s so obvious everywhere, if you would just stop focusing solely on your flaws.

You’re beautiful humanity, and you should stop shaming yourself consistently.

With so much love,

Ivy Willow

*Image found here.

 

4 thoughts on “Dear Humanity,

  1. “The world’s going to hell in a handbasket and violent little you is the reason why.” Mmmhmm. 😛

    *has thought this about her own personal self rather often* 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

