mental illness

Combined and intertwined -mental illnesses

stop-the-stigma
Image found here

I’ve been asked before what exactly it is that I “deal with”, because apparently people want to know all at once? I don’t know.

I’m often afraid to say because the list is long and it feels like I’m going “poor old me”, but I’m not, it’s just what my life is. I thought that perhaps I would actually put it all in one place, so that you, my lovely sunshines, can have a quick reference to things that I may talk about, and also so that those of you with lots of intertwined issues can know that you are not alone.

So… Here goes nothing:

I live with the majority of these every day, day in, day out. It’s just life, and while, sure, I know it’s a lot, and I know from some people I’ve talked to that it’s almost overwhelming for them for me to even list everything, it just is.

It’s my existence. It’s not something to pity, not something to feel sorry for me for. That’s not why I share my experiences. I share them because it helps me. I share them because I feel stronger being able to own these words, these problems, and speak them aloud. I share them because I may help someone, and helping even one person feels, to me, like enough of a reason to make myself uncomfortable, sometimes very much so, by sharing all of the “problems” that I have, and giving a peek into my every day life. And of course letting others know that they are not alone, because to feel alone… to feel isolated and like you are the only person in the world that deals with what you deal with is soul crushing.

So, if I can take at least a little bit of the feelings of isolation away from anyone, then good. I’ve succeeded in what I want to do.

2 thoughts on “Combined and intertwined -mental illnesses

  1. You are brave honey, you are stronger than you think. You are right to say how you feel. There are many who have same disorders in the brain so your not alone. I only have Depression with bipolar disorder. Mood swings and extreme lows with suicidal ideation and attempts. But I’m familiar with the rest of your illnesses. It’s very hard to manage them all at once. Just start with one till its under control, then work on the other. I get ECT treatments for my illnesses. It helps a lot to stabilize me. I go for several months with no symptoms. Yes it’s true. Maybe ect is for you too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much sunshine. Some of it is okay right now. I don’t hear my voices, and have only heard them for about 4 days in the past two years. My moods seem to be somewhat stable over the last two years, my anxiety and paranoia are under enough control that I’m not constantly terrified, but they are still pretty heavy factors in my day to day life.
      Things are really good compared to where they used to be. There’s still so much, and it gets overwhelming, but I’m able to lead a life now, so I’m pretty happy about that. I don’t think I will ever have a single day with no symptoms, which, I can handle that reality.
      I hope you have a beautiful day, and take gentle care of yourself

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

