bipolar · mental illness · trans

Maybe It’s Time We Stop Punishing Ourselves And Start Asking For Help

Sam Finch is an absolutely amazing writer. In this particular post he talks about the stigma of reaching out for help when you need it, especially when dealing with mental illness.
This is an incredibly important issue, and one close to my heart, as I deal with bipolar and anxiety myself.
Have a beautiful day sunshines!

Let's Queer Things Up!

I had a family member who, in his old age, used to pull the emergency cord in his apartment – a cord designed for seniors should they fall or become very ill – almost every week.
 
Over and over, he would pull the cord and be taken by ambulance to the hospital, where the doctors would assure him and our family that there was nothing wrong.
 
I was a child back then, and I remember asking my parents why he kept pulling the cord if nothing was the matter.
 
“He’s lonely,” they told me.
 
When I was that young, I couldn’t understand why he didn’t just tell people that he felt lonely.
 
But as an adult in the grips of mental illness, ten years later, I understand why he kept pulling the cord.
 
I understand that sometimes the hardest thing in the world is…

View original post 343 more words

3 thoughts on “Maybe It’s Time We Stop Punishing Ourselves And Start Asking For Help

Leave a Reply

