poly · relationships

The perfect relationship(s)

I’m poly, if this is a surprise, welcome to my blog sunshine, I hope you enjoy it.

I’ve thought a lot about relationship dynamics since breaking up with R. I sure as hell don’t want a partner type relationship right now, but I do think about the future and what I want out of a relationship.

I can’t do the monogamy thing anymore, I don’t think I would be comfortable in having a closed off relationship, and besides that, whoever I am with will need to understand and be respectful of any dynamics that R and I may or may not have at any given time. He’s been and continues to be the most important/intimate person in my life, and I really don’t see that changing at all, at least not for a very long time.

It’s not to say that I’m forsaking or have no respect for any person I may be with in the future, but my relationship with R is so super important to my life, and that tie, that importance, and the depth of our relationship is something that is simply not up for negotiation.

I want to be loved. Cuddled. Taken care of. I want to be able to take care of, cuddle, and love. I want closeness, but I want my space as well. I want to be able to live on my own, but have wonderful lovers and partners over, or be over with them. I need my own autonomy, I can’t do what I did to R. I can’t cling like that. I’m not interested in doing that again. I saw how much it hurt my best friend.

Thank you for reading and have a beautiful day sunshines ^.^

4 thoughts on “The perfect relationship(s)

    1. You’re welcome sunshine ^.^ that’s very succinctly put. While I was living with him, I just slid downhill into this very needy/clingy realm and that wasn’t cutting it for either of us

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

