Taboos: Incest

I love musing about taboos. Why are they taboos? Why are they considered wrong? I don’t see why any conversation or topic should be off limits. So, with that said, something I’ve been musing on for a while now is this:

Is there anything inherently wrong with incest?

I know it’s gross to a lot of people, and I know a lot of knee jerk reactions are “Of course there is! Why would you even ask that?” I mean, I’m still even in that camp, but, for the sake of conversation, let’s hold those knees down.

Now, to clarify, I’m not talking about or including any interplay that can happen with different dynamics. I’m not talking about power dynamics that could be totally fucked up and/or controlling or anything else like that. I’m stripping this conversation down to the bare bones dynamics of siblings or other family members dating.

There’s something to be said about the reproduction side of things. Yes, there are higher possibilities of genetic problems if you were to procreate incestually, but, does that disqualify the relationship and make it immoral?

If the relationship is one of consent between adults, why must we deem it incorrect?

I think that, perhaps, as a whole, incest is considered wrong because of social moores, rather than any inherent problems. Throught history there have been many cases of incest in a variety of different groups and nationalities of peoples.

Ultimately, truth be told, incest grosses me out, but then again, so do golden showers, but hey… whatever floats your boat if it’s consensual, right?

If there’s another taboo subject you want me to cover, let me know in the comments below! Have a beautiful day sunshines, and take gentle care of yourselves.

23 thoughts on “Taboos: Incest

  1. Childhood sexual abuse, especially incest, ate very, very complicated matters because you have to see and live with the Perpetrator .

    If statistics are correct, 1 in 4 girls and 1 in 6 boys are victims of sexual abuse. There are sick people that romantize sexual abuse, something that twines around the life of the survivor like the rubbery twine wraps around the core of a golf ball. It is impossible to extricate from one’s (the abused individual’s) life.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for replying sunshine. I’m sorry 😦 I hope this read wasn’t too painful for you. I definitely do not want to undermine the really shitty things.

      Like

  2. If someone is born that way then are they sick?
    Can we as adults who insist on the ability to have freedom of choice pass judgment on another two consenting adults. In my opinion I think not. It’s like apples and oranges. Honestly I believe it’s not something anyone can say is wrong. My reasoning behind this, well think about this. Who gives anyone the right to pass judgment over another’s love life, especially if the party are two consenting adults. Society need to understand that just because you as a person believe love is one thing doesn’t make it any less true for someone born or even someone who comes to the belief that what they call love isn’t real.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your comment sunshine ^.^
      “Can we as adults who insist on the ability to have freedom of choice pass judgment on another two consenting adults.”
      I absolutely agree with this ^.^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It does definitely, and we’ve seen it before, especially with a lot of royalty. Limiting genetic variety does indeed become a problem, but I’m musing, not so much on the having children part, but rather, why, in general, incest is so highly looked down upon as any sort of viable relationship

      Like

        1. This is based off the idea that relationships are first and foremost for reproduction, which I would argue isn’t true for everyone. I think an entire ethics debate would be better laid out in another thread, but in this specific topic, if we were to hypothesize that within X incestuous relationship, neither person wants to have children at all, would there be anything wrong with it. No reproduction, just two people who love each other in a combination of ways that society often finds disturbing. Is there really anything unethical about that if it’s two consenting adults?

          Like

          1. Yes its unethical and psychologically wrong you can’t have sexual feelings towards your sister or daughter ,if you have this means you are not psychologically balanced , its nothing related to reproduction ,today we have do many means of contraception ,so no issue related to that ,even a husband and a wife don’t mate every time to reproduce

            Liked by 1 person

            1. What makes it wrong? How do we put down that definitive line if it’s mutually consensual adults? Can we even legitimately put down that line if it’s consensual? Why do we find that one relationship dynamic (blood related) must inherently mean that there are specific other ones (partners, lovers) you can’t have?
              btw – Thank you, I’m loving the debate ^.^

              Like

              1. As mentioned sex is more about psychology rather than physical activity ,brain is wired like this ,that it won’t feel lust towards your mother or siblings in a healthy brain ,otherwise if it has hormonal unbalance ,it can feel pleasure in incest

                Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol, I love that you have the courage to put this out there. In my opinion, you’re right. Not everyone gets a say in who they fall in love with, and if that happens to be with a family member that could be okay in some circumstances. But then the same thing could possibly also be said for students and teachers, for example. It’s hard to draw the line where someone is abusing their power or is genuinely in love. I personally think it’s also tricky with brothers and sisters, because they might mistake being close to each other for being in love. In any case I think such sensitive relationships should be condoned until the legal age, because someone needs to be older to fully comprehend what they are doing and what the consequences could be of possibly conceiving a child with a family member. If after that they are 2 consenting adults, I see no problem.

    PS: I hope you don’t think I’m stalking your blog too much. You just ask interesting questions that make me want to read and comment 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you very kindly sunshine! I am very glad for your input, and no, don’t worry, I love that you enjoy and interact on my blog so much, I think it’s pretty spiffy! Thank you again, and if there is something you would like me to cover, you can always let me know in comments or email ^.^
      Have a beautiful day!

      Liked by 1 person

        1. *blush* Thank you. I do have I think… two other posts up about my drawings, I don’t know if you’ve seen them. I’m still debating on actually selling anything or not yet, and I’m currently working on another eye.

          Like

          1. Hey Ivy, I’m trying to find your other drawing posts, but I can’t find them. Do you have the names or tags? You’ve just written sooo much! I’m always pro-selling, but that’s probably because I did a couple of courses on getting your own business of the world. Life long dream – just waiting for the business idea 😉 There were lots of photographers and artists in that same class though. The most important advice they got was to figure out their unique selling point and determining who’s the audience. If you’re hobbying I suppose you don’t really have to do that, but it’s a nice exercise that can make your work more focused.

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

