That’s not my name

I want to tell those I love

Call me Ivy. That’s the right name. 

Stop calling me the name I have now

I promise I won’t change names on you again

But I am Ivy. I am not her. That name… It embodies my problems, my fear, lacking courage, lacking control…

I am Ivy, I am not her

I am stronger than my problems, I am not my problems

I am okay and work with my limitations, I am not defined or destroyed by my limitations. 

I am resilient, I am not forever ground down because of my past

I. Am. Not. Her. I don’t want this name attached to me anymore. It wrong. 

I am Ivy. 

And I wish I felt like I could just tell you this. 

Leave a Reply

