Of night terrors and missing sleep

I’m so incredibly tired lately, of course, that comes from staying up far too late, but… It’s not just a matter of making irresponsible decisions. You see…

See, I have night terrors. I always have, ever since I was a little kid, as far back as I can remember, back to when I was first learning how to ride a bike. They are continual and repetitive. It’s the same ones again and again and again for years on end. I’ve had the same two for the last 10 years, one of which I wrote as a short story called Replay. Generally they are only a couple nights a week, but sometimes they happen every night for weeks on end, this is when I become tired.

I can’t sleep, I’m too scared to sleep. I keep myself up until I can’t stay up anymore. I often end up with 2-4 hours of sleep a night. Sometimes I will try to sleep, but it’s just too scary. Even when I’m curled up with someone, I just can’t do it. I hope this bout passes soon. It’s been a month or so of bad sleep. I got six hours yesterday. That was nice, but it’s the most sleep in a night that I’ve had for a while now.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Of night terrors and missing sleep

Leave a Reply

