Science vs pseudoscience

I was initially going to write this about what was sent to me by Healthline, but after researching it, I decided that it would be better to do a quick post about pseudoscience. I half recommend the site.

Hello my sunshines! So, I’m really excited. I got contacted by Healthline, of course, the first thing I did was try to see if it was a site that was full of shit. Here’s what I found: Tech Crunch has nothing but good things to say about it, ScamAdvisor gives it a high trust rating.

There seems to be a lot of legitimate information on there, but I’m a worried about the overwhelming amount of CAM (alternative medicine, a.k.a. woo) positivity.

I’m really not a fan of promoting potential “treatments” where the best thing you can say is “studies suggest” (with no link to the studies) or “there’s a possibility that“, which is often followed by a lack of studies, or even a lack of statement of studies. Learn to understand how to tell the difference between science and pseudoscience. Please. I ask this because I love you guys, and I don’t want you to get sucked into the world of bullshit. It’s pretty much useless, can definitely be dangerous, and well, doesn’t use the scientific method.

To the individual from Healthline that contacted me: if you are reading this, I’m neither endorsing nor rejecting Healthline. I will present what I find as it is and let others decide what to do with the information. Thank you again for contacting me.

Thank you for reading sunshines, I hope you have a beautiful day!

4 thoughts on “Science vs pseudoscience

  1. Oh.

    OH.

    I have, within me, a severe and unrelenting hatred and anger toward unsubstantiated scientific assertions. I loathe woo with all the passion of a chocolate fanatic in a Hershey factory. I applaud your evenness with dealing with the healthline thing, because my woo radar tends to go straight into ‘sarcastic asshole’ setting when I get the slightest whiff of pseudoscience.

    Glad to know you’re evidence based and logical, though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find that there are a time and a place for everything. In certain situations, I’m a smartass and not necessarily very nice, but as a general rule of thumb is that more people will listen if I’m straightforward but not mean, and some people find snark mean, soo try to temper it some.
      Thank you for your comment ^.^ later sunshine

      Like

Leave a Reply

