life · writing

Kids these days…

Kick ass! Why?

I think text-speech is fascinating. I don’t understand a lot of it, and I’ve certainly not always thought of it that way, but the more I think about it, especially from a linguistics perspective, the more it amazes me.

I know a lot of people find it lazy, but, it’s really not. If anything it’s innovative. With the advent of texting on phones, and things like twitter, where you are limited to a rather small amount of total characters including spaces, it’s absolutely astounding that an entire substitue written language has emerged to work with it. It’s amazing that kids (because it was mostly kids to come up with this) have created, not a lazier way to communicate, but a better way to directly get across what they are trying to say better in much tighter spaces than anything we’ve seen, outside of, maybe, shorthand. I mean, seriously, think about it.

smh – shaking my head. A three letter way to express disappointment about a subject or situation.

lol – a way of expressing entertainment at whatever one has just read or seen. There are levels of entertainment including making it longer (lololol). If that isn’t sufficient, you have lmao, or even rofl, and lastly combining two or more of these to express absolute hilarity.

hmu – hit me up. short for call me or text me later, I want to chat and perhaps get together.

There are so many others, and while I’m sure that many of you, if not all of you are familiar with the examples above (which is why I used them), I don’t know that many people really think about what goes into it.

“Kids these days” aren’t lazy, or inept at spelling, they are better at communicating their ideas and thoughts directly, and in less words and letters than a lot of us are. They aren’t writing less, they’re writing more, it’s just not what you’re used to.

“Kids these days” Aren’t reading less, they’re reading more. Way, way more. Think about just a few heavily frequented sites: cracked.com – full of 1500-2500 word articles with millions of hits. Mic check, millions of reads, and tons of articles that are 1000-~3500 words a piece with millions of reads. Reddit – mostly reading, Facebook – lots of reading, Twitter – lots of reading, there are tons of sites that host nearly countless amounts of short stories.

BLOGS, FUCKING BLOGS YOU GUYS! HOW MUCH ARE YOU READING RIGHT NOW?!

And so are so many other young people. It’s just not what we are used to considering reading, but it sure is reading, and a whole lot of it.

So, “kids these days” are pretty damn awesome, and really inventive. I hope that “adults these days” can stop shitting on them, because honestly, these kids rock, and we just can’t see it.

Leave a Reply

