There’s a snake in “The Good Dinosaur” and it’s amazing.

We went to see The Good Dinosaur the other night. We basically went because our youngest (E) is obsessed with dinosaurs right now. From the commercials, I went in kind of figuring it would be another half assed kids movie, good for a few chuckles and temporarily entertained hellions.

I was so incredibly wrong.

This is one of the best kids movies I’ve seen in a long time, and I would definitely suggest it for anyone, whether you have kids or not. I’m not going to put spoilers in here, I just wanted to talk about one minor character that is only in there momentarily.

At one point (I won’t say how) Arlo, the main character, runs into a snake. It doesn’t sound that amazing, but it is. I absolutely love evolution and that’s why it’s amazing.

This snake has teeny tiny legs!

tgd-snake

This is totally something that snakes had at one point, and lost over time. This little addition totally made my night. I’ve never seen anything like that in a movie, much less in a kids movie. It’s such a small detail, but it’s such a big deal.

As many people probably know, here in the US, we’ve got a dismal rate of scientific understanding, especially when it comes to evolution. It’s about 50/50 in those that know evolution is real and those that believe it isn’t, so to see something based off evolutionary prospects in a kids movie just makes me all warm and fuzzy inside.

The whole entire movie is just absolutely awesome, and there are tons of little details that are so cool, but as a huge fan of biology and evolution (I’m only going back to school for it lol) seeing that snake, in the few moments of glory it had on the screen, made my night more so than anything else could have.

Now, have a beautiful day sunshines, and do yourself a favor: go see The Good Dinosaur.

 

3 thoughts on “There’s a snake in “The Good Dinosaur” and it’s amazing.

  1. Hey. I’m far from the future. OooOooooOo!

    I just did a Google about this snake after just seeing the scene. I was for sure thinking it was a reference to the snake in eden, but you might be right about it being a nod to evolution instead. Let’s hope you’re right.

    But I don’t have that much “faith” in the movie’s proper science basis, since the kid in the movie is a Homo sapiens, while the movie is supposed to be taking place about 60 million years ago. Which as we know is about 60 million – 200 000 years too soon. But then again, dinosaurs don’t have agiculture and grow corn, so that’s a thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “This is totally something that snakes had at one point, and lost over time.” Wait, seriously?!

    I thought the whole snakes-had-legs-once thing couldn’t possibly be true because all the illustrated Adam and Eve stories from my childhood showed Satan as a beautiful snake WITH LEGS before the Fall, and he lost his legs as part of the curse, so the story goes. I didn’t know that was /real/ ever.

    Oh my word. That’s… fantastic.

    But just wait. The creationist blogs will soon be claiming this moment in the movie for their own purposes. -__-

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahahahaha. Yeah, they did indeed have legs, and in fact there are still some snakes with teeny tiny vestigial claws (almost like mini dew claws just barely poking out of their skin) Some others have tiny bone remnants as well, but nothing showing outside.

      Like

Leave a Reply

