bipolar

Talking about mania

People often ask what’s wrong when they think someone looks depressed, but you don’t get asked what’s wrong when you’re manic, and even if they did, what are you supposed to say?

No. I’m not fine. I feel on top of the world and highly energetic. I feel like I could do anything and am ready to try anything. My self esteem is through the roof and I feel untouchable. This isn’t good.

This is of course providing that you even know what the fuck is going on, because one wonderful (see: really shitty) side effect of being manic is that you don’t have a clue. Your entire world is absolutely amazing, and everything you do is easily justifiable. No matter what it is.

The people that want to help you encourage it, because you look like you are doing well.

And it makes it incredibly hard to not fuck up your life when you’re being encouraged to do it.

That’s not to say that I think for a single second that anyone is actively encouraging destructive habits, but you have to understand what mania can look like to see why it’s encouraged, and why that’s not a good thing.

I have bipolar type 1, which means that I’ve had documented full out manic episodes, and they sure do get interesting.

Up until I was on medication, I had never been in a “normal” calm state since my bipolar reared it’s ugly head when I was 15, I didn’t get on meds until 26. In that time I cycled between depression, mania and mixed state (a dangerous combination of both), but I’ve never not been in one of those states. I never had a moment of down time, or just a regular day. So I’d go from depressed to manic straight away, and nobody knew.

When manic, I suddenly have a ton of energy. I’m on top of the world and able to do anything. I try pretty much any new things I want to, I go out and talk to and meet new people…

and move to different states, be reckless and dangerous sexually, make sometimes life altering decisions on a whim, become far more volatile and believe I’m nearly invincible.

Those are the things that people don’t necessarily see. Those are the things that people don’t realize they are actively encouraging.

The best thing you can do, if you know someone who is bipolar is understand how they cycle. What does depression look like, and even more important, what does their mania look like? These are things that you need to know to be able to effectively help.

Have a beautiful day sunshines. ^.^

 

12 thoughts on “Talking about mania

  1. Thank you for this post. I know what you mean about certain symptoms of mania being encouraged- I have type 2 and hypomania, from someone usually depressed, is seen as high functioning, interesting, bright…. Until it hits its destructive stage, of course. Then everyone wonders what happened.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m so glad that you are sharing your experiences because people who don’t experience this need to learn. We need to be educated and you’re doing a great job. Thank you for sharing! Your posts will teach us more than any psychology book ever could.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much. I hope to really help people understand at least a little bit better. I know that someone you love being bipolar is incredibly difficult to handle if you know what’s going on, and seems impossible if you don’t. I’m glad it’s helping. ^.^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It will help people. Your good intentions will reach many. If I may, I would suggest maybe making YouTube videos about the topic – generally people prefer to listen rather than read (sadly we have become lazier than ever). I think you might be able to reach more people that way. This is a crucial topic and I like the way you addressed it. Great job!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I did a youtube video before, but the beauty of this is anonymity through a pseudonym and… I’m not the most comfortable with myself. Either watching or listening. (But I rock at talking in person lol)
          And thank you ^.^

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

